So I Published a New App Again

Creating an App for Myself This Time

Arc Sosangyo
3 min readMay 18, 2024

Since 2016, I’ve been developing and publishing my own apps on the App Store. However, I decided not to renew my Apple Developer membership in 2023 because I could no longer update my apps, and they didn’t earn enough to cover the annual membership fee. I felt it was better to call it quits and not renew my membership.

Since then, I’ve had a lot of reflections. The most notable one is that my apps sucked despite my efforts since 2016. It’s as if I never learned anything or did my research. I wasn’t improving, and I was creating apps that even I wouldn’t bother to use. I’ve published too many apps that I wasn’t going to consistently update and would just forget about. No wonder I failed in this venture.

But don’t get me wrong; I don’t feel bad about it. If not for this venture, I wouldn’t have acquired the necessary skills or built my portfolio to land a job as an iOS Engineer at a company. It paved the way for me to change my career to Software Development and finally leave my career in IT Infrastructure Operations. Although I was already an IT Manager in that field, I chose not to continue because it required long working hours, and I couldn’t commit to that anymore since I wanted to spend more time with my son.

--

--

Arc Sosangyo

Father | Husband | Self-help Author | Coder | Traveler